Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new. – 2 Corinthians 5:17

best friendsI had a childhood that was blessed, but full of questions about why people hated someone because of their skin color. These questions were replaced with hatred within myself. Soon I became a racist and remained that way until the month of June in 2004 when I was forgiven and saved by my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. He came and replayed my life right before my eyes and let me know He didn’t let go of me. I surrendered to the Lord and have been serving Him ever since.

I was called to ministry not too long after that and in 2006, I attended a baptismal at a church in Roberta Georgia. There was a mixed couple in the church I belonged to and the husband wanted to be baptized. The minister in charge said she wanted me to help in the baptismal and I agreed. During the week leading up to his baptism, I ran across the scripture where Peter was in a trance and had a vision that instructed him to call nothing God created unclean.

Throughout Acts 10 is an account of how Peter was led to minister the Gospel to people who weren’t Jews and the vision he had prepared him to do so. Verse 34 and 35 caught my attention:

Then Peter opened his mouth, and said, Of a truth I perceive that God is no respecter of persons: But in every nation he that feareth him, and worketh righteousness, is accepted with him. – Acts 10:34-35

The day of the baptism came and when Tom got in the baptismal pool, I got in with him. I looked at him and suddenly I realized, I was helping baptize a white man. At that moment the Pastor in charge and I took Tom underneath the water and stood him back up. At that moment, I knew I could no longer have hatred in my heart toward any man that God created. Just as Tom received new life with his baptism, I received deliverance and healing from years of confusion and hatred toward another race of people.

Today. Tom and I are good friends. I don’t see him much, but God used him to change my perception of things. He used Tom to save me from being condemned because of hatred I forgot I even had.

I praise the Lord for all He does! Never again will I hate and have favorites. We all belong to God and it is His love that keeps us day to day. I can’t imagine this place without His love. Hate? Never again!

I used To Be A Racist. Parts 1, 23, 4

One thought on “I Used To Be A Racist pt 5 – Never Again!

Please Leave a Reply

