crowd audienceWhat if all the rich, famous and important people suddenly went public and announced they are a disciple (follower of Jesus)? I can see it now. The leaders of the United States, Russia, North Korea, China, Cuba, the Middle Eastern countries, Germany, England and all the countries in between calling a summit because they realize getting this world right can’t be done with weapons of destruction?

What if some, just some of the performing artists went public and announced they are stepping away from all the songs that lead young people to sex, drugs, violence, having babies out of wedlock, drama and other idols of confusion?

What if we as a people made up our mind that we can serve only one God, leaving our idols where they belong, in the trash?

I know this is a far-fetched thought, but then I think that way. When I read the scriptures I realize something like this isn’t likely to happen. It all has to come to an end one day. But I guess it doesn’t hurt to ask; “What If?”

if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land. – 2 Chronicle 7:14

So I guess I’ll focus on myself and anyone who will hear my testimony and tell them we need to:

  • Humble ourselves. – Ditch the pride! God really doesn’t like pride.
  • Pray. – This is a two way communication with God. Praying in the name of Jesus brings results.
  • Seek God’s face. – This means look for Him the way we would look for a loved one who is missing.
  • Turn from our wicked ways. – All of the above can’t be done unless we lose what is making us unrighteous in the sight of God.

Then The Lord will hear us, forgive us and take care of our issues. Then we can experience the “What If” in our lives.

Please Leave a Reply

