Over the past few years I’ve been hearing the phrase; “We are a Covenant People.”  And because of it we are walking in the blessings of God.” This I’ve heard mostly by people on television. Please don’t get me wrong. This isn’t a post to bash anyone. It’s a post to raise a question in the minds of the people who are serious about their serving the Lord and their Salvation.

Mostly you hear the phrase when one is talking about riches and material possessions. I believe if it’s the will of God for us to have riches, we will get them. In fact some people are enjoying the promises of God right now.

I was studying God’s word last night and ran across Jeremiah 11:1 which reads:

This is the word that came to Jeremiah from the Lord:“Listen to the terms of this covenant and tell them to the people of Judah and to those who live in Jerusalem. Tell them that this is what the Lord, the God of Israel, says: ‘Cursed is the one who does not obey the terms of this covenant— the terms I commanded your ancestors when I brought them out of Egypt, out of the iron-smelting furnace.’ I said, ‘Obey me and do everything I command you, and you will be my people,and I will be your God. Then I will fulfill the oath I swore to your ancestors, to give them a land flowing with milk and honey’—the land you possess today.” I answered, “Amen, Lord.”

The keyword, if there is such a thing in scriptures, is “OBEY”. A covenant is an agreement. In this instance, the people agree to obey the Lord and He will bless them as His people, His covenant people. So why then are there so many people living their lives in a sinful ways, claiming they are covenant people? As I said earlier, this post is intended to provoke the thoughts of people  seeking the truths of God.

Please Leave a Reply

