You, God, are my God, earnestly I seek you; I thirst for you, my whole being longs for you, in a dry and parched land where there is no water. – Psalm 63:1

Psalm 63:1
Photo By Photodune.net

I remember when I was a teenager, we would all meet up in Washington Park across Cottage Grove Avenue where I grew up in Chicago. We would play baseball in the morning, football in the afternoon and basket ball in the evening. Needless to say this led to me being thirsty. When I got home, the first thing I would get was a glass of cold water, straight from the tap. If you were raised in Chicago in the 60’s and 70’s you know we had the best tasting coolest water running from the tap.

This thirst reminds me of how thirsty we can get for the presence and blessings of The Lord. We can’t wait for the next drink because we know it’s going to be cool and refreshing like it was on those hot summer days I just mentioned. The Lord can be everything we need even if the land and our surroundings have stop yielding the comfort we so need everyday. He has already said if we seek Him we will find Him. (Proverbs 8:17 – I love those who love me, and those who seek me find me.)

Dear Lord help us to realize that you’re all we’ll ever need, if we’ll just seek you and ask. ~ Amen.

Please Leave a Reply

