Basketball teamA young black man was sentenced to 255 years in prison for a crime spree he committed here in Macon. I could go in on unfairness, overkill, unequal justice and so forth. If I did, I probably would be justified. But I won’t because I want to post a way to stop this. You might not like what I’m about to say but it starts with me, you, us!

I remember hearing the elders in the neighborhood where I grew up in Chicago. He said; “Boy if somebody going to hit you with a brick, don’t find one and put it in their hand. Let them find it on their own.” This saying stuck with me and now that I’m a “young-old man” I can connect this with what’s going on today.

Yes. In some instances you are profiled. Yes in some instances you are stereotyped. Yes in some instances you are targeted. Yes in some instances, you are lied on. You can’t stop how somebody feels about you and you can’t make them shut up without taking your own selves down. But you can make people feel stupid for the way they think about us and act toward you by making some changes within yourselves. I won’t attempt to name the areas you need to change in because I don’t  know you. But I will say you need to start loving and respecting yourselves first, before anybody else does.

To encourage you now, into loving yourself I want to share this with you. In the bible you will find some scriptures that will show your importance to God, yourself, your family and your community. Here they are:

Genesis 1:26-27
26 Then God said, “Let us make mankind in our image,in our likeness, so that they may rule over the fish in the sea and the birds in the sky, over the livestock and all the wild animals, and over all the creatures that move along the ground.” 27 So God created mankind in his own image, in the image of God he created them; male and female he created them.

Psalm 8:4-5
What is man, that thou art mindful of him? and the son of man, that thou visitest him? For thou hast made him a little lower than the angels, and hast crowned him with glory and honour.

So as you remember these two truths, and many more in the Word of God, go forward respecting and loving and respecting yourselves first, then everybody else will take note and change their way of thinking.

Please Leave a Reply

