For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart. – Hebrews 4:12

sword_PNG5518Have you ever read or heard a passage in the bible that seem to go deep and find you out? I mean it went deep to a secret you’ve been holding inside, or a sinful deed you were involved in, to reveal you to yourself. It’s happened to me several times. It happened a lot before I surrendered to Jesus as my Savior and the Holy Spirit helping me to see the error of my ways.

I remember when I was a boy, I got a splinter in my finger that went well under my skin. I didn’t want to tell my mother because she was going to get a needle, sterilize it with a match and start digging until she got it out. In the meantime I would be writhing and twisting as if she was killing me. After the wrestling match, she prevailed and I didn’t have a splinter anymore.

When I read this verse, I compare it to this situation of a deeply embedded splinter. The splinter is sin and if it remains in our heart, it will cause infection and make the matter worse. The needle is the sword that is sharp. And with a careful, well placed, precision stick and a pull, the splinter (sin) is popped out before it does a lot of damage.

Sometimes we writhe and kick, get angry, and resist the one who is giving us the word of God. Sometimes we reject what the word says and walk around with that splinter because we don’t want to go through the temporary agony of getting it out of our system, out of our flesh. But once we give in (Like me finally getting tired of trying to overpower mamma.) and let the word do what it does, we feel better and we can move about freely without feeling pain in everything we do.

So let the word of God do what it is sent to do and simply shout OUCH! HALLELUJAH! Because you will be delivered from the wages of sin.

Psalm 107:20 | Isaiah 55:11 | John 10:10 | 1 Corinthians 14:24-25

One thought on “OUCH! HALLELUJAH!

Please Leave a Reply

