“I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. If you do not remain in me, you are like a branch that is thrown away and withers; such branches are picked up, thrown into the fire and burned. If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. (‭John‬ ‭15‬:‭5-7‬ NIV)

Vine branchA few years ago, I was cutting shrubbery and vines from the fence line of our church. I cut some vines away from a tree and the fence and loaded them in a wheel barrel. I wasn’t able to load all of it in one trip so I took the first load. After dumping several loads I was putting the last of it in the wheel barrel when I noticed the branches had withered and the leaves had already begun to dry up.

Right then, I thought about this scripture and God allowed it to come alive when I saw what happened to the branches I had cut away.

I realized that without Jesus, I can’t do anything. When I am connected to Him, I’m connected to the Father. How? I’m glad you asked. Jesus is from the Father in heaven. That means Jesus is connected to Him. So. By Jesus being connected to God, and I stay connected to Jesus, I can do all things through Him. (Philippians 4:13)

Father in heaven I pray that I and everyone will connect and stay connected to your Son Jesus Christ. Being connected to Him means we’re connected to you. Thank you for letting us into the family. In Jesus’ name – Amen.

 

2 thoughts on “The Vine

    1. Thanks. The horse picture was taken in 1995 or 1996. I didn’t know the Lord then so it and a few other pictures are reminders of where God has brought me from.

      I pray many blessings come to you and your family in the name of Jesus.

Please Leave a Reply

