Isaiah 53:4-6
Surely he hath borne our griefs, and carried our sorrows: yet we did esteem him stricken, smitten of God, and afflicted. But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed. All we like sheep have gone astray; we have turned every one to his own way; and the Lord hath laid on him the iniquity of us all.

Oxygen_Tank_small_NOI think I mentioned in the 1st Day post how I was healed from asthma. Now I have a confession to make. When I was about twenty years old I took up smoking cigarettes and marijuana. Yeah I know. How dumb it must seem for someone who was healed from asthma to start smoking. My response is how quickly man forgets what the Lord delivered them from only to work hard to go back into bondage. I forgot and went right back to a sickly state, only slowly.

I smoked marijuana until 1986, when I took the physical agility test to become a police officer and I smoked cigarettes up until the Lord delivered me from the habit in 2004. In 2005 I was diagnosed with C.O.P.D. or Chronic obstructive Pulmonary Disease, a progressive disease that makes it hard to breathe. “Progressive” means the disease gets worse. In 2008 a doctor told me she could see where I used to smoke from the x-rays she took, and after further examination, she said she can’t see any signs of C.O.P.D. Today? I am singing in a choir-leading a few songs, playing quick games of shoot around on the basketball court (my knees will allow me about 15 minutes), and I don’t have to have an oxygen tank where ever I go.

I am thankful for the healing God blessed me with. Many people have questioned because they say COPD gets worse, never better or healed. But I tell them I don’t what doctors say, but since my Jesus says I am healed, I am healed and I’m thankful for it!

 

One thought on “5th Day of Thanks – Healing

Please Leave a Reply

