Proverbs 17:22 (NIV) A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.

Sometimes when I’m not feeling like I should, perhaps from a disappointment or something somebody has said. I look inward to find something that’ll make me laugh, usually it’s something silly I did in the past.

Today I found an answer to a question about a product I use everyday. I flipped it, turned it and examined it in every kind of way. I gave up when I couldn’t figure it out, so I only used half of what the product is all about.

Then all of a sudden, the answer came. Some ten months later, after I bought the thing. Out of nowhere I was able to do what I had been trying to do for days. Yet again, my own silliness proved to be my help in times of despair. I encourage myself with myself by laughing at myself.

When my heart is feeling low, I pray and often the Holy Spirit will bring back a memory of something I did. Sometimes He shows me how out of touch I was when I thought I had it going on. Or how much better off I am now than what I was then. So I laugh at myself, thanking God for showing up with the help, allowing me to be able to think of something about myself, to make me laugh at myself.

Please Leave a Reply

